

Annual General Meeting (for 2022-2023) Tuesday 17 October 2023 | 6:00 pm, Waurn Ponds Library

MINUTES

Present: Guenter Sahr (President), Judy Rankin (Treasurer), Victoria Spicer (Acting Secretary), Claudia Collins, Jean Pearce, Julie Rysdale, Jo Curtain, Jenny Hurley, Vicki Caravias, Ted Reilly, Paul Bucci, Linda Carr, Alex Adorno, Ivor Steven, Adrian Brookes, Sandra Jobling

Apologies: Kerstin Lindros, Jenny Macaulay, Cecily Moreton, Stephane Vander Bruggen, Michael Cains, Matthew Lambert

- 1.0 Guenter Sahr, President, opened the meeting with Welcome to Country.
- 2.0 Minutes of previous meeting accepted on motion of Ivor Steven, seconded by Paul Bucci.
- 3.0 President's report. Copies to all present. Guenter Sahr spoke to his report.
 - 3.1 Guenter, noting there were 193 members at 30 June, said it was important to aim for 200 plus members as this was a significant benchmark for funding from Council and arts bodies.
 - 3.2 Ted Reilly asked whether AGM reports were forwarded to City of Greater Geelong, Geelong Regional Library Corporation and Writers Victoria. Guenter confirmed they would be.
- 4.0 Treasurer's report. Copies to all present. Judy Rankin spoke to her report.
 - 4.1 Guenter Sahr asked whether we should be concerned about the \$1,396 shortfall. Victoria Spicer, former Treasurer, assured him it was actually a technical deficit with expenditure this financial year using funding received in 2021-22.
- 5.0 President and Treasurer's reports accepted on motion of Ivor Steven, seconded by Ted Reilly.
- 6.0 Presentation of Life Membership award to Dr Edward (Ted) Reilly, a founding member.
- 7.0 The President declared all positions vacant. Election of members to the Committee of Management of Geelong Writers Inc. Nominations were called for up to seven vacancies on the Committee of Management. Guenter Sahr, Judy Rankin, Victoria Spicer and Claudia Collins agreed to re-nominate. Jean Pearce, who did not seek re-election, was thanked for her service. Vicki Caravias nominated to join the Committee. All five were elected unopposed.

Meeting closed at 7:00 pm.